My Placita Olvera – Always and Forever

It’s been a minute since I last went to the Placita Olvera.

I’m turned off by the god-awful new town homes that they have built right alongside Cesar Chavez, next to Union Station.

They are so cookie cutter, there is no sense of culture or heritage in them.

They look so plain, and they are way too expensive.

I was driving by the tunnel the other day, the tunnel that connects to the bridge that connect East LA to Downtown LA, and it was like 1 in the morning and there was a white chick running. I was like whuuuut?!

Not even me! And NOT just because I don’t run, but because it’s a tunnel, its 1am, and hello! No matter how much you want to gentrify it, its still dirty ass Downtown LA!

Anyways, I was reminded that I had not ate at Cielito Lindo in a long time! They have these really good and greasy taquitos in a guacamole sauce that’s not really a guacamole sauce, but more like a chile verde sauce, which is kinda scary because how can a guacamole sauce be so thin! How do they do it?! But if you are in the mood for some pretty darn good taquitos with a little bit of “This use to be Mexico” nostalgia, that’s the spot.

The sucky part is that there is no parking and unless you tag team with a friend to drop you off at the corner and then you run in and get an order and have your friend circle the plaza and pick you up, you are out of luck. Parking is a Hillary.

OH!

Anyways, after Paisa and I ate our overpriced taquitos, we headed for a little walk through the old cobblestone road and the little wooden tienditas. I bought myself a $2 churro, again, what’s with the overcharging?! I’m not a tourist! I know they costs 2 for $1! Psssht. And it wasn’t even all that.

So we kept walking, and I swear to the Virgin Mary on every store, that I saw Antonio Banderas walking with some businessmen! I swear! I was like OMG! Its Antonio Banderas! We almost chased him down with a camera, but decided to keep our composure and pretend we had not seen him…psssht, that was SOOO not Antonio Banderas! Too tall!



We kept on walking and I stumbled across a new coffee shop with GASP! Soy milk Mexican hot chocolate?! chipotle tofu wraps! Vegi ground nachos?! Holly lucha libre Mexican mascara! When did this happen?!



The Casa de Sausa, which was once the home to a dwindling folk art store, has had a nip tuck! I don’t know if for better or for worse, but I was caught in a –I don’t know if I like this, smells like the G-word- moment. [Gentrification]

I walked in with a raised eyebrow and was pleasantly surprised by the art on the walls, the Chicano activist flyers that were at the entrance coffee table – a sign of acceptance by the Chicano community, the Spanish Flemenco threw me off for a minute, but loved the concept, the old leather armchairs were a nice touch, lots of space for intimate conversations and overall, a good ambience. The guy behing the counter had a fedora, a beard, and was having a conversation with a long haired Chicano in a black guayabera about “capitalist pigs” – that’s all I heard. So I figured, it seems like a pretty legit place!

But if you are going to ask me to relinquish my love for greasy guacamole green chile sauce taquitos, I would have to slap you silly with my non fat soy milk abuelita chocolate!

11 thoughts on “My Placita Olvera – Always and Forever

  1. Pachuco 3000 says:

    they call those apts, town homes?

    I heard they sold them all in record time!
    there is a suka born every minute.

  2. That's So Paisa says:

    i tasted the churro, it wasn’t worth two bucks….
    🙂 the taquitos were delish!!

    where can we eat next…

  3. That's So Paisa says:

    i tasted the churro, it wasn’t worth two bucks….
    🙂 the taquitos were delish!!

    where can we eat next…

  4. That's So Paisa says:

    i tasted the churro, it wasn’t worth two bucks….
    🙂 the taquitos were delish!!

    where can we eat next…

  5. That's So Paisa says:

    i tasted the churro, it wasn’t worth two bucks….
    🙂 the taquitos were delish!!

    where can we eat next…

  6. cindylu says:

    I haven’t eaten there in a looong time. Last time I tried to go there, we couldn’t find parking so we just headed to Chinatown.

  7. cindylu says:

    I haven’t eaten there in a looong time. Last time I tried to go there, we couldn’t find parking so we just headed to Chinatown.

  8. adriana says:

    I love Placita Olvera. One of these days, we should do lunch and drinks there mid-week so we can avoid the weekend crowd.

  9. adriana says:

    I love Placita Olvera. One of these days, we should do lunch and drinks there mid-week so we can avoid the weekend crowd.

Leave a Reply

