Los Angeles Magazine: Not So Hot & Spicy


Dear Editor-in-Chief,
I was completely appalled by your May cover of Mirthala Salinas and the not so clever headline “The Mayor’s Mistress”.
I reviewed your 2007 and current 2008 covers and was struck at the fact that in 17 covers, no other Latina graced it, with the exception of Salinas, who uses her mother’s death as an excuse to ooops, sleep with the Mayor of the 2nd largest city in the Nation because she was lonely.

Why not have the former 1st lady of the city of Los Angeles on the cover? Corina Villaraigosa survived not only cancer, but continued emotional abuse and held her head high during this whole scandal.

Congratulations on continuing to stereotype Latinas as fast, easy, emotional and worthy of mention only if our sexualities are on display.

In my opinion, you missed the story altogether.

Sincerely,
Wendy Carrillo

15 thoughts on “Los Angeles Magazine: Not So Hot & Spicy

  1. That's So Paisa says:

    I completely agree. However, we know that sensationalism sells, and the First Lady of Los Angeles and her struggles and triumphs although much greater are apparently not newsworthy. Add to that the fact that Corrina is too classy to expose herself like this.

    Ms. Salinas’ pathetic attempt at redemption is ridiculous! Her mother is probably turning over in her grave in disgust at her puta daughter! What kind of a dumb ass blames the death of her mother as justification for fucking a married man, who happens to be the Mayor of LA. And what about the moron who now is willing to marry her! HA, he better hope she doesn’t have another death in her family, she mourns with her legs open….oh shit did I say all that!

    yes i did.

  2. That's So Paisa says:

    I completely agree. However, we know that sensationalism sells, and the First Lady of Los Angeles and her struggles and triumphs although much greater are apparently not newsworthy. Add to that the fact that Corrina is too classy to expose herself like this.

    Ms. Salinas’ pathetic attempt at redemption is ridiculous! Her mother is probably turning over in her grave in disgust at her puta daughter! What kind of a dumb ass blames the death of her mother as justification for fucking a married man, who happens to be the Mayor of LA. And what about the moron who now is willing to marry her! HA, he better hope she doesn’t have another death in her family, she mourns with her legs open….oh shit did I say all that!

    yes i did.

  3. That's So Paisa says:

    I completely agree. However, we know that sensationalism sells, and the First Lady of Los Angeles and her struggles and triumphs although much greater are apparently not newsworthy. Add to that the fact that Corrina is too classy to expose herself like this.

    Ms. Salinas’ pathetic attempt at redemption is ridiculous! Her mother is probably turning over in her grave in disgust at her puta daughter! What kind of a dumb ass blames the death of her mother as justification for fucking a married man, who happens to be the Mayor of LA. And what about the moron who now is willing to marry her! HA, he better hope she doesn’t have another death in her family, she mourns with her legs open….oh shit did I say all that!

    yes i did.

  4. That's So Paisa says:

    I completely agree. However, we know that sensationalism sells, and the First Lady of Los Angeles and her struggles and triumphs although much greater are apparently not newsworthy. Add to that the fact that Corrina is too classy to expose herself like this.

    Ms. Salinas’ pathetic attempt at redemption is ridiculous! Her mother is probably turning over in her grave in disgust at her puta daughter! What kind of a dumb ass blames the death of her mother as justification for fucking a married man, who happens to be the Mayor of LA. And what about the moron who now is willing to marry her! HA, he better hope she doesn’t have another death in her family, she mourns with her legs open….oh shit did I say all that!

    yes i did.

  5. TacoSam says:

    yeah, I saw that magazine, too. She ended the interview by saying that even though she knew she hurt people, it was worth it because she felt special (I’m liberally paraphrasing).

    Did you see that Mirthala is back with her ex-boyfriend, the one she cheated on to be with Vivalaraza, and now they are getting married in Cabo. The ex-boyfriend took her back after all that and is even willing to make her the mrs.! They have a wedding website, if you google it, you can probably find it.

    She has some unique power over men, that’s for sure.

  6. TacoSam says:

    yeah, I saw that magazine, too. She ended the interview by saying that even though she knew she hurt people, it was worth it because she felt special (I’m liberally paraphrasing).

    Did you see that Mirthala is back with her ex-boyfriend, the one she cheated on to be with Vivalaraza, and now they are getting married in Cabo. The ex-boyfriend took her back after all that and is even willing to make her the mrs.! They have a wedding website, if you google it, you can probably find it.

    She has some unique power over men, that’s for sure.

  7. adriana says:

    Great letter to the editor!

    I agree that putting her on the cover was totally unnecessary.

    Mirthala Salinas certainly isn’t a role model for our young ladies coming up in the world. Talk about playing into stereotypes, huh?

    I just felt compelled to comment on my own blog because I kicked off my blog writing w/ this scandal.

    This still makes me think much less of Antonio V.

    I hope that Corina Raigosa is doing well these days.

  8. adriana says:

    Great letter to the editor!

    I agree that putting her on the cover was totally unnecessary.

    Mirthala Salinas certainly isn’t a role model for our young ladies coming up in the world. Talk about playing into stereotypes, huh?

    I just felt compelled to comment on my own blog because I kicked off my blog writing w/ this scandal.

    This still makes me think much less of Antonio V.

    I hope that Corina Raigosa is doing well these days.

  9. Wendy Carrillo says:

    Paisa: DANG GIRL! You took it there!!
    LeeSee: Yep. Next time I go out, I’m wearing a red dress, hoop earrings and curling my hair dammit!
    TacoSam: She must have like a magical va-j-j or something! Lol. Wish I had her powers!
    Cindylu: I guess I held them to a higher standard. But maybe you are correct.
    Adriana: You should read the editors letter in the magazine and how they tried to explain this was Hollywood meets Politics news reporting. My eyes could not roll as fast as I would have liked.
    **
    I really do wonder how this interview really played out, I mean on some level, Salias has to have known that she was going to be exploited right? I mean, not only did they sexualize her, but by calling her a “dowey eyed bambi” they also made her look dumb! And her track record of men? So what she had a thing for all of the Latinos in politics?! She’s like a muse or something!

  10. Wendy Carrillo says:

    Paisa: DANG GIRL! You took it there!!
    LeeSee: Yep. Next time I go out, I’m wearing a red dress, hoop earrings and curling my hair dammit!
    TacoSam: She must have like a magical va-j-j or something! Lol. Wish I had her powers!
    Cindylu: I guess I held them to a higher standard. But maybe you are correct.
    Adriana: You should read the editors letter in the magazine and how they tried to explain this was Hollywood meets Politics news reporting. My eyes could not roll as fast as I would have liked.
    **
    I really do wonder how this interview really played out, I mean on some level, Salias has to have known that she was going to be exploited right? I mean, not only did they sexualize her, but by calling her a “dowey eyed bambi” they also made her look dumb! And her track record of men? So what she had a thing for all of the Latinos in politics?! She’s like a muse or something!

Leave a Reply

