Douglas Bruce on illiterate peasants

I am more than amused at the people that are elected to represent the United States and run our government. I just heard about this today, but just 2 months ago, in April, State Rep. Douglas Bruce (R-Colorado Springs) was asked to leave the House floor for calling immigrants illiterate peasants regarding HB1325.
Fellow Republican Marsha Looper introduced the bill when farmers complained about a shortage in agricultural workers due to recent immigration raids. I thought to myself, NO! No way! There is no way an elected official no matter how conservative would say that! What a gaft!

But, I did a quick YouTube search on the issue and found the entire thing:

Wow bob!
Clearly, Rep. Bruce is referring to Mexicans (Latinos) when he stated “I would like to have the opportunity to state at the microphone why I don’t think we need 5,000 more illiterate peasants in Colorado.”

First of all, its an error to assume farm workers are illiterate peasants, and its an error to assume the work they do is meaningless or undignified. Secondly, if in fact, the workers were illiterate peasants, what does that say about us and the way we treat and exploit them? We should be careful where we cast our stones Rep. Bruce. Thirdly, not all agricultural workers are Latino!

Also, didn’t our own President Bush also support a guest-worker program? I guess Rep. Bruce didn’t get the Republican memo on that! Besides being repulsed and disgusted by this, I am shaking my head in utter amusement. Being illiterate has nothing to do with being an immigrant and everything to do with knowing how to read legislation so that it’s not explained to you on the floor. Hire a competent legislative aid.

Besides, you have to be really be the ugly step child when you are denouced by your own party. Which is exaclty what happened. Republican floor leader Mike May (R-Parker) denouced (and rejected?) Bruce and stated “You’d be hard-pressed to find an American citizen who isn’t the descendant of an illiterate peasant.”

House Assistant Majority Leader Terrance Carroll (D-Denver), who is one of two African American reprsentatives said, “There’s no place for bigotry in the House… I say that as the descendant of illiterate slaves who built this country.”

daaaammmm! he went there!

And although House floor Chairwoman Rep. Kathleen Curry has received death threaths, she did the right thing by removing this obvios biggot from the floor. I especially love her dramatic “How Dare You?!” We love you Kathleen Curry!

Bruce should resign. He adds nothing but fear, hatred and racism to our alredy xenophobic country. No kudos.

2 thoughts on “Douglas Bruce on illiterate peasants

  1. Hamster with no wheel says:

    WOW BOB! You know I know this is totally off color but he seems to me the type if man who goes to places like Thailand to have sex with boys. It always seems to be those WASP politicians that hate everything foreign that have sick and twisted ways. I am just saying. Again I know totally inappropriate but he just a big A**Hole!

  2. Hamster with no wheel says:

    WOW BOB! You know I know this is totally off color but he seems to me the type if man who goes to places like Thailand to have sex with boys. It always seems to be those WASP politicians that hate everything foreign that have sick and twisted ways. I am just saying. Again I know totally inappropriate but he just a big A**Hole!

Leave a Reply

