True Revolutionaries

A young guerilla cradles her automatic rifle a year before the end of El Salvador’s civil war in 1992. Photo: Martin Adler / Panos Pictures Photo: Martin Adler / Panos Pictures
A young guerilla cradles her automatic rifle a year before the end of El Salvador’s civil war in 1992. Photo: Martin Adler / Panos Pictures Photo: Martin Adler / Panos Pictures

Sometimes it’s not so hard to imagine what my life would be like if I still lived in El Salvador, if the war had never happened, if my father wasn’t the man he was.

A while ago, someone told me that I wasn’t a true revolutionary.

Does a revolutionary brand themselves as such? I wonder what this person were to say to me if they knew where I came from, what I have seen, or new the family I have lost and the father I never got to know.

I wonder if they would continue to call themselves revolutionaries if they were faced with real war, with real death, with real struggle… not just the fantasy they pretend to live in, or the romatization of the idols they continue to admire.

True revolutionaries? Lie under a cement sink turned upside to protect you from bombs, or grab a riffle to protect your family and then talk to me about true revolution.

4 thoughts on “True Revolutionaries

  1. xenia flores says:

    hello homegirl im from el salvador and i now what you went through my family want through all those things but we still together i now how it feels losing one of your family member cause the same thing happend to me i lost my favorite uncle and i was in moms stomach during the war in el salvadorand now im here about to gradute from high school i would like to meet you some day so we can shared the things that happend to the two of us

  2. sarita says:

    Hello girl im not really from El Salvador my mom and aunts are from there and they told me so many things from over there about the war and all that? And now im moveing over there and im scare to go there of the gang and all that?

Leave a Reply

